US-Ukraine Security Dialogue XV

Taking Measure of Ukraine’s Defense Capabilities & Needs After a Year of War


February 28, 2023


US-Ukraine Security Dialogue XV: Taking Measure of Ukraine’s Defense Capabilities & Needs After a Year of War was held at the National Press Club in Washington DC on February 28, 2023.

The event featured six-panel discussions and three highlight focus sessions. The panel discussions were dedicated to examining Ukraine’s ability to properly engage in war along classical security dimensions: land (regular/territorial); sea/maritime defense; air/air defense; cyber warfare/information warfare as well as it’s capacity to adequately maintain its infrastructure assets (whether military or civilian) and energy resources.

The highlight focus sessions gave prominence to considering, as tradition would have it (and as present circumstances clearly would recommend it), why Ukraine’s security matters enough to its neighbors and the world at large to merit serious military assistance in time of need.


  • Howard Altman
  • Margarita Assenova
  • Stephen Blank
  • Phil Breedlove
  • Jaroslav Brisiuck
  • Wesley Clark
  • Luke Coffey
  • Ariel Cohen
  • William Courtney
  • John Costello
  • Oleksiy Daniilov
  • Oleksandr Danylyuk
  • Andrij Dobriansky
  • Brian Higgins
  • John Herbst
  • Ben Hodges
  • Mykhailo Honchar
  • Glen Howard.
  • Ihor Kabanenko
  • Adrian Karatnycky
  • Brian Mefford
  • Herman Pirchner
  • Roman Popadiuk
  • James Sherr
  • Jill Sinclair
  • Ivan Vinny
  • Kurt Volker
  • Peter A. Wilson
  • Andriy Zagorodnyuk
  • Walter Zaryckyj


  • American Foreign Policy Council
  • Center For US-Ukrainian Relations
  • Jamestown Foundation
  • Ukrainian Congress Committee of America
  • Ukrainian National Information Service


  • Heritage Foundation at First Federal Savings
  • Jurkiw Family Foundation
  • Self Reliance NY Federal Credit Union
  • SUMA Yonkers Federal Credit Union


  • IIan Berman 
  • Andrij Dobriansky
  •  Andrew Futey 
  • Rich Harrison 
  • Mykola Hryckowian 
  • Nadia McConnell 
  • Roman Myhal 
  • Tamara Olexy 
  • Borys Potapenko 
  • Herman Pirchner 
  • Walter Zaryckyj